Skip to main content

Montgomery County Chapter of Credit Unions Scholarship Award

Montgomery County Chapter of Credit Unions Scholarship Award.

The Montgomery County Chapter of Credit Unions Scholarship Award is available to any participating credit union member who is a senior in high school and is accepted to attend a college or university this fall. Two scholarships of $1,000.00 each will be awarded. To apply for this award, the student must meet the following criteria: 

• Submit application and at least one letter of recommendation from his or her teacher or counselor and provide information about the student’s curricular and extracurricular activities. 

• The student must be a member of one of the participating credit unions in the Montgomery Chapter of Credit Unions. 

• The student will submit an essay on “With respect to your future education, how do you think you can promote your Credit Union in your community?” to the Montgomery County Chapter of Credit Unions’ Board of Directors. To be eligible, the student must include a confirmation that he or she belongs to a named participating credit union and outline his or her community service activities to date. 

• The student will have a senior year grade point average of 3.0 or higher. This is to be verified by the high school or by a copy of a transcript or recent report card.

• Include a copy of 2-year or 4-year accredited college or university acceptance letter. 

• Submission deadline is Monday, March 8, 2019.  

Download Application

Submissions can be sent via mail or in-person to: 

Montgomery Co. Chapter of Credit Unions Education Committee 
C/O Stephanie Newbert 
Norristown Bell Credit Union 
1407 Erbs Mill Road 
Blue Bell, PA 19422 

The Board of Directors will select the winner; however, any Board members’ immediate family members will not be eligible to apply. Winner will be notified by March 29, 2019. Winner will be encouraged to attend our April 10th monthly meeting to receive their award. 

If you have any questions about this award, please contact the Education Committee referencing the Montgomery Co. Chapter of Credit Unions Scholarship via e-mail at

Board Members 
Vince Market, President 
TruMark Financial 

Denise Davis, Vice President 
American Heritage FCU 

Brian Bischof, Treasurer 
Affiliated Trades CU 

Dana DeFilippis, Secretary 
Merck Sharp & Dohme FCU 

Stephanie Newbert, Director 
Norristown Bell Credit Union 

Liesl Stroup, Director 
North Penn FCU